X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • fresnoboy
    • Mar 2016

Need advice on Solar design with regards to interference

Hi - we're building a new house here in the SF Bay area. It's a 2 story craftsman style home, so the roof has some facets to it, sort of like this house: https://cdn.houseplans.com/product/r.../w1024.jpg?v=7, but larger overall. The front of the house is south by southwest, which means the panels mostly should be on the front and right side of the house, and there is a detached garage as well that faces the same way that can host panels as well.

Due to rates here in PG&E land, getting a lot of power out of the array is important to me. The solar contractor my GC has recommended wants to use Solaredge gear, as the optimizers would help deal with panels that are at different angles. Th problem with that is that I am a ham radio operator, and the Solaredge optimizers (not the inverters) use DC-DC converters that have been poorly designed from a radio interference point of view.

Even if the main inverter is off, they put out a ton of RF in the shortwave bands, wiping out most of the signals I'd like to be able to receive. This has been validated in a couple articles by hams who had been saddled with these and so I'd need to avoid Solaredge because of it.

There is some anecdotal evidence that some of the string inverter companies like SMA do not have such problems, but I am told the roof design means its going to take a efficiency hit without the use of some type of optimizer.

I was wondering if folks here had any experience with the Tigo optimizers, as they don't seem to have DC-DC converters in their designs, or the new Maxim integrated optimizers that as far as I can tell are only in Chinese panels so far, and not in the highest wattage panels at that.