Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Net meter not accurately showing power sent to the grid.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Net meter not accurately showing power sent to the grid.

I have been thoroughly monitoring my electric panel consumption and solar production since my install in May. My Itron net meter seems to be not accurately measuring power sent back to the grid. It flashes 04 and 10 and shows what I pulled and sent to the grid. I have a Locus revenue grade meter installed between my SE5000 and the line side tap. On my inside panel I have a effergy whole house energy monitor that I have been using for 4 years and is extremely accurate.

Crunching the data on all three there is around 150kwh missing that should be showing on the net meter that I sent back to the grid. I realize that the net meter wont see what the panels are sending into the house and being used but the effergy sees that.

Has anyone every run into a bad net meter not accurately showing what was sent back to the grid. Makes me suspicious of my poco.

Here are some picture to get an idea on my setup. The effergy setup is not mine but is installed the same way.

Attached Files

What approximate %age of your total consumption does the 150 kWh represent ? Revenue grade meters are usually and nominally +/*- 0.5 % of total reading. Others are available (for more $$) that claim +/- 0.2 %. Other meters are a crap shoot as you are finding out. To quote one of the mods several years ago, a man with two watches never knows the correct time. I've got a method that seems pretty good to compare one meter against another in a residential setting, but it requires shutting off (opening) all the breakers in the panel except the one handling the array, and carefully recording the off time and then comparing the before/after meter readings. Seems to give reasonable results.

Comment

In the photo for the Efergy, I see ...
      A = Amps C/T for L1
      A = Amps C/T for L2