X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bmms8
    • Jun 2017

Install in San Diego questions

Hello, i am a resident of San Diego and a new member of this forum. Ive been able to research and collect good information, so thank you all!

I average about $220 with SDGE and have received multiple quotes on a 5.7-6 kw unit system. Im looking at LG 315 (19.2% efficiency) or 330 watt (19.3% efficiency) panels and a solar edge 6000 or 7600 inverter. Im getting quotes from reputable local installers. Some use hook type installation and some use double flashing. I have no shady area on my roof and the unit will be installed on two south facing portions of the roof. Im also trying to make sure i get a 25 year workmanship warranty for those companies who offer it, along with 20 years on inverter.

Im basically getting between $3-3.10 per watt cost for the system before rebates. Does this seem reasonable or can i talk these guys down even further? If you recommend i look at other brands of panels i am open to all suggestions. Thanks so much in advance
  • J.P.M.
    Solar Fanatic
    • Aug 2013

1.) Welcome to the neighborhood.
    2.) Suggestion: If you haven't done so already, download and read " Solar Power Your Home for Dummies", free on the net or ~ 25$ at bookstores or Amazon for an updated version. You're thinking of spending $12-$13 K after tax credit. Spending a few bucks and a couple of hours reading, particularly about the better ROI and system size reductions (less$$) possible via conservation and use reduction efforts may be a good investment.
    3.) Expect about 9,500 to 10,500 or so kWh/yr. from a 5.7 - 6 kW system in/around San Diego.