X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • OCRick
    • Feb 2017

Please Help Me Decide On New System

Hi Folks,

Newbie here. After a few months of researching various systems, receiving referrals and interviewing installers, I have selected a reputable installer and am about to pull the trigger on my first system. I wanted to confirm that the price I negotiated is a fair deal and seek some unbiased advice about system size.

I live in So Cal w/ SCE service. Roof space for optimal module/array placement is somewhat limited, so we were looking at going with higher efficiency modules. No major shading issues.

I have a pool and an EV that I charge every few days. Last year's usage was 10,800. The previous year was approx 12,000. I may add another EV in the next couple of years as range increases.

Below are the 3 options I'm looking at with this installer after a fair deal of negotiation:

Option #1
    7.680 kw
    Est production 11,520
    24 LG 320 Modules
    SE 7600 w/ optimizers
    Pre-Incentive $24,960
    $3.25/watt

Option #2
    7.590 kw
    23 Panasonic 330 Modules
    Est production 11,385
    SE 7600 w/ optimizers
    Pre-Incentive $24,667
    $3.25/watt

Option #3
    6.930 kw
    Est production 10,740
    21 Panasonic 330 Modules
    SE 7600 w/ optimizers
    Pre-Incentive $22,250
    $3.21/watt

The installer has also agreed as part of the above pricing (in lieu of a further reduction in contract price) to install a new 240 volt run (will be about a 20 foot run) for my future 2nd EV. If I factor in a conservative $500 value for that, I'm around $3.18/watt.

A few questions:

1. Is $3.25/watt price a fair price for the SoCal market?

2. Given my usage at 10,800, the higher usage the year before, and the potential 2nd EV, and degradation, does it make more sense to go with one of the larger systems like options #1 and #2?