X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Falz87
    • Jan 2017

Solar newbie needing help choosing best option

Hi all,

I'm new here and would appreciate if you could guide me into choosing the best investment for a solar panel system. I have limited knowledge and technical experience, and therefore what could be obvious for anyone might not be for me

I have had a couple of home visits from different companies to install a 10 panel system on the rooftop, which give various daily/yearly output units with different brands and inverter types and would appreciate your feedback on the best choice.

LG Panel 320W - 10 panels - String Inverter (ABB) output of 13 units per day ****
    LG Panel 300W - 10 panels - Micro Inverter (Enphase) output of 13.5 units per day ****
    Canadian Solar Or SolarWorld 290W - 10 panels - String Inverter (SMA) output of 12.5 units per day [same panel with SolarEdge inverter outputs 14 units per day]

**** These panels are bi-facial. They are able to provide around 25% more output daily due to their back panel.

What do you think is the best combination of Panel and Inverter? I have heard positive things about Enphase as well as negative ones. SolarEdge looks good as well but a little on the expensive side.. therefore your thoughts would be appreciated.

A couple of few more questions/concerns..

1. Is it safe to assume that the main daily/yearly output is dependent on the inverter? Since panels with same specs but different inverter brands seem to vary on these units

2. Would you recommend LG for PV systems? They have new panels which are bi-facial, that are able to generate power even from their back panel, however some companies seemed against it as the transparent back panel on the 300W panel gives problems. Any one knows if this is true?

3. Micro-inverters seem to have better benefits over a string inverter, however the cost tends to also be higher. Which would you recommend?

Thanks in advance