X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • rebelrider.mike
    • Sep 2021

Suggestions on choosing an inverter?

​Hey all.
    I've been shopping around for inverters, and they've got me a bit confused. I'm totally new to the big ones, and I'll probably get some terminology wrong. I also don't really know where to look besides whatever randomly pops up in Google searches. But maybe you guys can help me figure this out.

I should probably let you know that I'm neither rich nor acrobatic. So this will all have to be done in stages while I recover financially from each one. And I'll have to hire out the solar panel installation. The primary goal is to have some power available to critical circuits during power outages. I figure 8 circuits based on how various things are split up in the main panel currently, and 6kW of power. I've actually counted up more like 4.5kW, but a buffer between typical and maximum would be nice.

Stage 1: Add a sub panel with the critical circuits. Fed by either the main panel (US grid) or by a 6kW generator. I'll also have a transfer switch so the grid and generator never get to "see" each other. This I could do pretty easily. The main panel is surface-mounted to a cinder block wall, and has room for more panels and boxes to be installed nearby. The wiring is also easily accessible.
    Generator.png