Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from BC, Canada

Hello to the Group.
    I'm new to these forums and a total Solar Newbie. Looking to gain some intel on sizing and installing solar systems. I'm not an electrician but I can handle most wiring work to 220 Volt.

We have a Grid-Tied rural ranch property with an Outdoor Wood Boiler heating system and a few Pumps that I'd like to be able to operate when the grid goes down, which tends to happen around here. Winters can be severe so a back-up power system makes sense for us.

Given that we have a Hydronic heating system, I also think a few Solar Thermal panels might also be helpful to keep the system warm and reduce my cord-wood consumption.

Does anyone know of any online tools for sizing and designing a solar system for Canada? All I can seem to find are software tools loaded with US data only.

All thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated
    Last edited by Kelster; 10-17-2019, 06:52 PM.

What type of system, PV or solar thermal ? If PV, I'd assume off grid capability ?

If solar thermal, for the reliability and complexity involved, while I'm a fan of solar thermal, you'll probably be better off practically and financially to keep burning wood.

Comment

I think we should start with PV and given the intent is to be a Grid Down system, I think it'd be an Off Grid system or similar.

Wood is available at no cost other than some fuel, chainsaw maintenance, time and effort and I have a lot of experience with hydronic heating so Solar Thermal is on my list of interests.

Comment

Originally posted by Kelster View Post
        I think we should start with PV and given the intent is to be a Grid Down system, I think it'd be an Off Grid system or similar.

Wood is available at no cost other than some fuel, chainsaw maintenance, time and effort and I have a lot of experience with hydronic heating so Solar Thermal is on my list of interests.