DIY grid-tie system upgradable to hybrid

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DIY grid-tie system upgradable to hybrid

Newbie here. I formed a preliminary plan with a helpful fellow on stackexchange, but I want to relieve him of the burden of teaching me everything, as well as seeking additional perspective. I am a EE, but I still find the issues involved in a hybrid system most confusing ...

My goal is to DIY build a 4-5kw system (I have room for only 15 or so panels). I've decided to back off on making a hybrid system from the get-go, as a generator (or EV) probably makes more sense for our infrequent and fairly short outages. But I'd like to make it reasonably easy to upgrade to a hybrid system in the future.

Shading is a significant issue on my wooded lot, and in fact I probably can expect a reasonable payoff period only because I'm going DIY including the electrical work (I have considerable experience doing home wiring, and our jurisdiction allows DIY, subject to inspection of course). Because of the shading, I feel it's essential to go with either power optimizers or micro-inverters. I'm leaning towards the latter. My understanding is that SolarEdge's optimizer system is superior to competitors, but if I go with them I'm more or less forced to use their StorEdge technology and expensive batteries such as Tesla PowerWall (whose capacity I do not need). Using micro-inverters forces me to AC couple, of course, but it leaves me a lot of freedom in components and battery capacity. I'm leaning towards Chilicon micro-inverters, mainly because my stackexchange pal seems to like them more than Enphase; but I see no discussion of Chilicon at this site.