How to add Batteries to a roof solar system?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Mark2407
    • Jun 2019

How to add Batteries to a roof solar system?

Hello, people.
    Help, please. . . I'm a newbie here, know very little about solar and PV, etc. . .
    Living in western Arizona, we put 36 solar panels on the east-facing sloped roof a year ago.
    The documentation says it is a 10,620 kW system, and the big box in the garage is a "Fronius IG Plus".
    I think that all the generated power goes to the local power company, and we then get our power from them.
    At about 12 noon and 110F in the shade, the Fronius box says it is generating about 7100 watts. It often gets above 8200 watts.
    With the AC running Always, our electric bill is a constant $27 monthly, just to belong to the "co-op" that manages the power.
    Trying to plan ahead for when the SHTF. . . I think it would be a good idea to put a bunch of batteries in the garage,
    and tap into the current panels system, so that when the terrorists destroy the country's power grid, we will have all the power we
    need to run the house (2000 square feet, with constant AC, fridge and a spare freezer, electric stove/oven, many electronics, etc).
    Water heater is gas-powered. I'm SURE that some other people have done this already. . . Yes?
    From the posts that I have already read here, I think I want to create a "hybrid" system?
    Where can I go to study what I would need to do to accomplish this?
    Some links, please? Your thoughts? This IS a doable thing, yes?
    Would greatly appreciate some advice from you experts. Thanks.
    Mark2407
  • Mark2407
    • Jun 2019

Wow. I just realized. . . when the nation's power grid dies, then the natural gas company will be out of business. . . yes?
    We might need to get an Electric water heater?

Comment

• Mike90250
      • May 2009

Originally posted by Mark2407
      Hello, people.