Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Slanepaul
    • Nov 2017

Hybrid system

Hi all, looking for your help, I have 5kw pv with a sma 4000tl, I want to add 4 kw or battery storage, what size hybrid inverter would I need?
  • jflorey2
    Solar Fanatic
    • Aug 2015

Originally posted by Slanepaul
    Hi all, looking for your help, I have 5kw pv with a sma 4000tl, I want to add 4 kw or battery storage, what size hybrid inverter would I need?
    What are your loads? (max power, kwh per day) How many days of autonomy do you want? What devices do you want to start and run? How often do you lose power? Will you switch to DC hybrid, or do an AC coupled system?

Comment

• Slanepaul
      • Nov 2017

Hi, just want to utilise the extra power I am generating, at night etc, currently the panels and I have a turbine produce in the region of 30 kw/h daily. Dont loose power that often, Im relatively new with pv, but think the DC Hybrid is better for me rather than having an inverter on the ac side. All your help would be appreciated

Comment

• jflorey2
        Solar Fanatic
        • Aug 2015

Hi, just want to utilise the extra power I am generating, at night etc, currently the panels and I have a turbine produce in the region of 30 kw/h daily. Dont loose power that often, Im relatively new with pv, but think the DC Hybrid is better for me rather than having an inverter on the ac side. All your help would be appreciated
        OK just so I understand -

You are on-grid now with a grid tie system. Are you not getting credit for the power you generate? In that case I'd consider a net-zero capable system like the StorEdge.