Float issues

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Float issues

I'm a solar novice who is struggling with a 5 month old system. I have 22 Qcell 340 W panels with 1 SMA TL class 7700 inverter producing the electricity and, for battery backup, a Sunny Island 6048 with RS 485 and Web box and a SMA Smart Former (120/240) and 4 Deka AGM 8D size batteries. In the installation the electrician created an emergency panel with only 110 circuits. Full disclosure - what I just wrote about the SMA products is Greek to me; I copied it off the proposal.

My wife and I just spent 5 days off the grid in the wake of Hurricane Irma. This was our first significant test of our new emergency battery backup system. I would give it a grade of C at best. My needs were modest - a freezer, small refrigerator and a fan. My batteries were sufficient to get us through the night, but only if I started with a 90% charge.

My installer told me my system should go into float mode at 80% charge. However, it routinely went into float when the batteries were in the 60 something percent range - with the panels putting out only 9 or 10 watts. If I did nothing, at the end of the day I found myself with only 65 to 75% to get me through the night. If I rebooted the system when it was in float, that would sometimes cause the system to return to charging the batteries with whatever the panels are producing (2K to 5500K watts), but other times, for no reason that's clear to me, the panels would just continue to charge at 9 or 10 watts and at the end of daylight I had substantially less than a full charge. One night I got up in the middle of the night to check the charge and found it at 45%. I shut down the refrigerator (the freezer was already off) and turned off the fan but by morning I was down to 31%. After spending the rest of the night on a hard tile floor (A Florida trick to cool off a little), we were having some serious second thoughts about the wisdom of going solar.