Off grid recommendations

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Off grid recommendations

I am a relative newbie to off-grid systems. Our utility (in Arizona) just pulled the plug on true net-metering, and I am maxed out on my current grid-tie inverters, which are about break-even for my use. . I am considering an off-grid system primarily to charge my electric car on a daily basis. I already have 4 panels, which are 235 W output, rated at 30V and about 8A. The car uses about 5 KWH a day. Was considering about 11 KWH of batteries, 6V, wired for a 24 V system. Also would wire the panels 2 in series, 2 in parallel for 60V and 16A of output. Any comments or recommendations on this proposal?

Very bad idea. Anything you take off the grid is going to cost you 5 to 10 times more the rest of your life than what that mean ole nasty power company will charge you.

Your 11 Kwh battery is going to last about 2 years discharging it that deeply each day. 2 years is for a high end battery, not cheap ones from wally world. Just in battery cost alone a decent 11 Kwh battery will cost you $2400. Assuming you use 5 Kwh of that battery per day will yield you 730 days x 5 Kwh = 3650 Kwh. So just in battery cost alone you would be paying $2400 / 3650 Kwh = 65 cents per Kwh. Then in two year you will have to replace the batteries at even higher cost. Assuming your provider is APS they only charge you roughly 12-cents per Kwh.

Now why on earth would you want to pay 65-cents per Kwh or 540% more than you have to?
    Last edited by Sunking; 02-08-2016, 12:37 AM.
    MSEE, PE

Comment

Yup. Batteries aren't cheap enough yet. Give it a couple years.
      And by then you'll probably be considering a much higher voltage battery system.

Comment

Originally posted by electronpositive View Post
        I am considering an off-grid system primarily to charge my electric car on a daily basis.