Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jommy747
    • Sep 2023

Newbie wants to run 24,000 BTU AC

Hello everybody. I have a very specific goal. Run my 24,000 BTU York split unit from noon to 6 pm. So I studied and came up with the following calculations. Please let me know if I made mistakes or this would work. Ok here we go:

The split unit runs on 230 volts. It consumes 700 to 1.200 from when it starts to when the room is cold and run on eco mode. So let’s say 6 hours = 6,000 watts.

i live on an island with limited supply but I could get a huge truck battery 12 v new 1,800 Ah for $300.
    i get get a Growatt 3Kv here. I am thinking 3 panels of 400 watts. In the Caribbean we have A LOT of sun hours. On a cloudy day, if I cannot charge full my battery, it’s ok. It’s cloudy and cooler. No need AC.
    please let me know what you think. Thank you for the help.

• bcroe
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jan 2012

Originally posted by Jommy747
    Run my 24,000 BTU York split unit from noon to 6 pm.
    The split unit runs on 230 volts. It consumes 700 to 1.200 from when it starts to when the room is cold and run on eco mode. So let’s say 6 hours = 6,000 watts.
    1200 watts times 5 hours = 6000W Hours. I think your best shot would be to
    use a mini split or other unit designed to run directly from solar panels. But
    you probably will need more panels than that. Bruce Roe

Comment

• Jommy747
      • Sep 2023

Thank you Bruce but when you live on an island in the Caribbean everything you buy ship and import is very expensive. So I have a 2 years old split unit so I plan to use that. Buying an AC solar powered is not in my budget. When you say i probably need more that that, how many? How do you calculate that? Thank you

Comment

• bcroe
        Solar Fanatic
        • Jan 2012

If you have already been using that 24,000 BTU, you must have
        AC power. Check out its SEER, you want at least 20s. The