Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JanS48
    • Sep 2017

Fronius IG4000 Sting Inverter - question regarding string configuration

Greetings everyone - newbie here - I have acquired the following equipment for very little $$$
    17 Canadian Solar panels : CS6x-320P and a Fronius IG4000 NEG String inverter.

Specs of the panels:
    Operating volts: (vmp) 36.8 Open circuit volts: (voc) 45.3
    Operating current: (imp) 8.69 amps Short circuit current: (isc) 9.26 amps

Fronius IG4000 NEG:
    AC max cont. output: 4000w
    AC max cont. current 16.7 A
    DC operating voltage range 150 - 450v
    DC max system voltage 500v
    DC max continuous current: 26.1 A

Doing the math I should be able to string 12 of these together to get close to the 4000 watt output, however is it safe to use the optimum voltage of 36.8 which would be close (441.6) to the 450 v max DC of the Fronius? If I calculate using the voc of 45.3 each I'm over the max of 500 at 543.6
    -or-
    My other option is to configure an array using pairs in series/parallel. This way the amperage doubles but the voltage drops to max voc: 271 and vmp: 220.8 with the amps going to 17,3 which is still under the max amps of the Fronius.

I have read that the higher the voltage in the string inverters the more efficient they work, however I'm leaning towards the series/parallel array since the voltage is lower.

About Me: I'm a pretty good electrician but I have zero experience installing solar panels.

Racking: I was leaning towards unirac

Any comments are much appreciated.
  • bcroe
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jan 2012

The 500V maximum is the critical thing. The string OC voltage must NOT
    exceed this. Remember that panel OC voltage will rise with colder temps.
    I would stay away from the 500V number a bit, remembering that things
    like lightning might induce a bit more than the system.

With Fronius here at 42 deg latitude, it would be possible to utilize 2 strings