X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • SteelStudMan
    • Nov 2020

Need Help With Solar Panels On RV

This is my first time setting up a solar system. Here's what I have:
    1) 10 195 Watt 24 Volt Solar Panels Mounted On The Roof.
    2) 100 AMP MPPT Controller
    3) 8 100 AMP Hour 12 Volt AGM Gel Batteries
    4) 3500 Watt Inverter, Can Handle 48 Volt.
    Right now I have the panels wired in two sets of series (5 each) and the two series run together in parallel. I have the batteries wired in two sets of series run together in parallel, 48 volts. We're not off-grid, we have shore power and a generator but I would like to be able to rely on the solar if the power goes down or if we're camping off-grid. The thing I'm not sure about is the series/parallel thing, am I wiring them the best way for what I want to achieve? I would like to keep the amperage down so I don't have to use such large wires. Any suggestions?
    Also, I have an automatic transfer switch for the shore power/generator, what's the best way to tie in the solar power? The transfer switch doesn't allow for adding another power supply. I'm new to this but have been doing all the work myself so I can learn the system. I've read a lot but it seems like every system is different for different requirements.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
  • littleharbor
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jan 2016

For starters, what is the Vmp and Voc of the panels? What is the max Voc of the controller? Model numbers would help. Curious as to why such a large inverter? If to run an AC unit you are asking a lot from RV solar and batteries.
    2.2kw Suntech mono, Classic 200, NEW Trace SW4024

Comment

• chrisski
      Solar Fanatic
      • May 2020

Originally posted by SteelStudMan
      This is my first time setting up a solar system. Here's what I have:
      1) 10 195 Watt 24 Volt Solar Panels Mounted On The Roof.
      2) 100 AMP MPPT Controller
      3) 8 100 AMP Hour 12 Volt AGM Gel Batteries