Am I able to reduce the voltage of my solar panels?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Beanyboy57
    Solar Fanatic
    • Apr 2012

Am I able to reduce the voltage of my solar panels?

I have 6 12v solar panels connected in series that are producing 96v to 102v. I would like to reduce the voltage to 90v maximum but can go as low as 60v minimum \. I don't want to go the the trouble of rewiring them on the roof, if that is possible. I am not an electrician but am quite capable. Is there something I can splice into the circuit to reduce the voltage by 10 volts or so?
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

Nothing that I know of.
    "12v" panels are often 22Vmp and 27Voc, so on a cold morning, expect to see 162v coming off them. Maybe split the string in half ? What is the battery voltage you are trying to charge ?

I use a midnight classic 200 for my 180V string. With the Classic 150, you can go to nearly 200V using the hyperVoc feature on a 48V battery bank.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister

Comment

• Beanyboy57
      Solar Fanatic
      • Apr 2012

The inverter operates between 60 to 90v, the battery bank is 24v. So there is no way I can lower the DC voltage from the panels. OK I may have to rewire the panels to suit. Thank you.

Comment

• littleharbor
        Solar Fanatic
        • Jan 2016

Originally posted by Beanyboy57