Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

micro-inverters or optimizers when shading is major issue ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• micro-inverters or optimizers when shading is major issue ?

I'm planning a DIY grid-tied installation of 5kw or so, where shading will be a significant issue. Two questions:

1. Will micro-inverters or optimizers give me the best efficiency (least performance reduction with partial shading), or are they pretty much equivalent ?
    2. Is SolarEdge's system (optimizers and inverters) superior to other optimizers, as I've been led to believe ?

my motto is : " Less is More"
    Less electronics on the roof = more reliability, all other things being equal. So i opt for optimizers. I have no experience with optimizers, and have no favorites. What you should look at critically, is who do you call in 6 years if there is a problem ???

Other question, is do you actually get enough sun to bother with ? If your roof is shaded, it's your call.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister

Comment

Originally posted by Mike90250 View Post
      my motto is : " Less is More"
      What you should look at critically, is who do you call in 6 years if there is a problem ???