X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • NukeEngineer
    Solar Fanatic
    • Sep 2017

Ferrite Choke questions

I got some 15mm ferrite chokes to try to filter the smart meter comms noise from my inverters, see my other thread.

I've got limited experience with these. So, is there is current limit on these? I'm clamping around the individual L1 and L2 lines, not both in the same choke. With a fairly small current, the bead I attached early this evening was buzzing. I'm worried that at 50 amps they might overheat or something.
    https://pvoutput.org/list.jsp?sid=54099
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

They make choke material out of many different grades of Ferrite. You want a grade that ignores 120Hz, and becomes inductive around 60 KHz. DC current can saturate chokes, AC should not.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister

Comment

• NukeEngineer
      Solar Fanatic
      • Sep 2017

Well, bad news is it didn't work. Good news is, they didn't "do anything particularly bad". I was able to dig deeper and you should never attach these to a single load line, AC or DC. It should be both the supply and return, or both hots, or both hots and the neutral. In other words, the current through the choke should be 0 across all the wires going through it.

Here's an example of chokes on a single line. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cgP4B3_K8c8