Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Farlander
    • May 2017

Suniva Module Failure Rate, OPT-280

I am a professional solar installer and have been contracting PV installations for 4 years. 18 months ago I installed 30 Suniva modules on my own house and since then I have had approximately 10 module failures out of 30. The panels will behave normally until they warm up and then once the sun is full tilt, some of them go into 1/3 power. I have already replaced 5 of these, each time I replace a module it works properly for some time, but look at the screen shot from today.... anyone else having problems with Sunivas??
    Attached Files
  • J.P.M.
    Solar Fanatic
    • Aug 2013

What did the company say when you contacted them ? Are you (still) a Suniva installer ? 10 failure, 5 changeouts. Same 5 locations ?

Comment

• Farlander
      • May 2017

Different locations. Suniva is bankrupt now and not answering the phone. I never used Suniva again except for that one job.

I'm curious if bad bypass diodes could cause this effect, or if this looks more like cells that were damaged due to mechanical stress. The shipping company broke the bottom two on the stack when they were delivered.

Comment

• solarix
        Super Moderator
        • Apr 2015

I installed two Suniva arrays three years ago and have had failures on both. I used to offer the Suniva brand to customers who desired "made in USA" and it is a real shame that it turns out that the "made in USA" brand is actually the one that is crap. The first warranty claim on them we did last year was covered and they sent three replacement panels. The one we have currently submitted has had no response yet.