Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • mnracer123
    • Nov 2016

24volt inverter

please bare with me as i am new to solar and new to this forum thing....just getting started
    i was given a 24v 5000watt pure sign inverter from a relative(new in box)...and am thinking of making a small cabin solar system any pointers for a beginner
    as to the panels i should use and the controller options??
    thanks for the help
  • solar pete
    Administrator
    • May 2014

Howdy mnracer123 and welcome to Solar Panel Talk. Start with reading the stickies in the off-grid section. As with any off-grid solar pv system you cant design it until you know how much power it needs to deliver on a daily basis. So you need to do a loads analysis, how many devices consuming how much power? You need to work in watt hours or kilowatt hours, so a electric kettle that draws 1000 watts while in use, is used for a total of one hour a day this would draw a 1 kWh or 1 kilowatt hour.

Read up and get back to us, no one can help until we know what your loads will be, cheers and good luck with it

Comment

• Sunking
      Solar Fanatic
      • Feb 2010

Put it back in the box and sell it to a sucker. Also makes a great boat anchor.

First problem is a 5000 watt 24 volt iInverter is a fire bomb waiting to explode. Largest you should ever consider at 24 volts is 2000 watts, and that is pushing your luck.

But please be my guest and use it. The minimum panel wattage to support your bomb is 4000 watts. That will cost you some $8000. Then you will need two extremely expensive 80 amp MPPT controllers for roughly $1200.

Now here is the show stopper to feed your fire bomb, the battery you are talking about a 3000 pound, $7000 battery you replace every 3 to 5 years. It will take a 24 volt 1600 AH battery and here is what it looks like. Big enough to be a dinning room table or your bed. You had better have a thick slab on grade concrete foundation to support the weight or a strong backside.