Magic switch?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Magic switch?

As background, I am a solar newbie, but with the help of this forum and its contributors, i.e. particularly Sun King, Mike and Sun Eagle and a few others, I put together a small system at my shop to run my beer fridge and game freezer, etc. The title of that thread is "Two Free Panels". Long story short, I have two 280W panels, a 45A Morningstar MPPT CC, a 1,740 Samlex inverter and 8 GC2 6V batteries wired in series/parallel for a 24V system. I also have a Samlex 24V 20A charger. I have been experimenting with the system and I can successfully run my loads off grid for 2-3 sunny days before I have to switch to the charger to top off the batts. I do this manually right now and what I'm looking for is a "magic switch" that will monitor the batteries and when they get to some low level (probably between 60-80% SOC, which will probably happen at night unless I get 2-3 cloudy days), kick out the inverter and transfer the load to grid power. Then, when the batts reach a charged state (probably 100% SOC) reverse the process to kick off the grid and switch to the inverter again.