Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Pitter98
    • Feb 2011

Possible new PV Setup Questions in Michigan

I'm getting closer to making a decision on a new PV setup for my house just outside of Detroit, MI and have some questions for some of the pros here. I have quite a few in-depth questions, but I'll try to keep this as short as I can.

A little background - I'm an architect with a fair amount of DIY experience and have done quite a few major projects (gutted and renovated entire master bathroom) around my house and my brothers house. I have a decent knowledge of building codes and general construction practices - and if I don't know it I have access to it or people that do know it (architectural and MEP).

1. I've been looking around at grid-tie solar setups around the net and most of the ones I have found are in the $4-5/watt range, and that doesn't include installation. I recently came across a link for DMSolar on someone's PV installation page. They have very low prices on setups and I am currently looking at this system. It is 4.6kW with Enphase D380's for about $14,000 (including shipping). That works out to about $3 per watt, which is much cheaper than everyone else and still includes most everything needed to install it. For a 4.6kW system, I can get an up-front credit from my utility for $11,000 with an ongoing payment of about $550 per year for 20 years, plus 30% of the remaining installation cost from federal credit. The better prices will allow me to get a bigger system than I was originally planning (around 2kW). My main question is, is this an okay company or one that I should stay away from? They are on the California solar panel approved manufacturers list, but just wanted some other opinions.