Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • jfs51765
    • May 2015

System Setup Help!!!

I am a newbie at solar system and would like to try to install a solar system on my 36volt Cushman GC400 golfcart. I am from the Philippines and our market is flooded with china made equipment's.

I need help on what can i use for my setup, i can't find a 36 volt charge controller either pwm or mppt and what is available here is only 12, 24 and 48 volts charge controller and my golf cart is powered with a 36 volt dc motor.

Can i use 2 charge controllers a 12 and 24 volt charger controller in parallel to produce 36 volts in separate arrays, i have 3 12volt 100ah deep cycle batteries, how much amperage do i need for the arrays and the charge controller to fully charge my 3 12volt batteries on a 5 hour daily average sunlight and how do i wire them if its not too much to ask for.

Thank you in advance for the assistance.
  • Amy@altE
    Solar Fanatic
    • Nov 2014

There are charge controllers made specifically for the golf carts. Genasun and Solar Converters make them. Both of them can use a 12V panel and boost the voltage up to 36V. There are online stores who can ship it to the Philippines. You cannot do what you were proposing.

Solar Queen
    altE Store

Comment

• Mike90250
      • May 2009

I know the Midnight Classic and Morningstar MPPT 60 can charge 36V battery banks.

But you can not put enough PV panels on a cart to do much more than increase your drive time by about 5 minutes a day. Solar panels do not produce near enough power to recharge a golf cart. You need a 2 car carport covered with 20 panels, to recharge a cart in 1 day, and it might take even 2 days.

Sorry