Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I have 2 x 125 amp hour batteries and 2 x 100w solar panels. More panels required?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I have 2 x 125 amp hour batteries and 2 x 100w solar panels. More panels required?

Hi, I am building this system for camping. I meant to only purchase one 125 amp/h deep solar battery, but I bought 2 by accident (online shopping cart misclick). My math tells me that my two 100w solar panels will not be enough to charge both batts in a day (Northern New York). Should I go ahead and get another 2 x 100w solar panels? Thanks, I'm new to this and reading a lot, but I thought I would just ask this question. Thanks,
    Rob (first post, be gentle)

Panel wattage and battery capacity is calculated by daily use, not guessing.

What kind of controller are you using? MPPT or PWM?

200 watts of panel using PWM controller will generate roughly 400 watt hours daily and will support a 12 volt 150 AH battery.

200 watts of panel using MPPT controller will generate roughly 550 watt hours daily and will support a 12 volt 225 AH battery.
    MSEE, PE

Comment

Hi, thanks for the reply. No guessing, got it. But, what do you mean by 'daily use'? Are you advancing the notion that I need to test out the equipment to see what kind of results I get? Or were you trying to say something else?

I am using a 30A PWM Charge Controller (which allows system expandable up to 400W(12volts) and 800W(24volts))

Here is my exact equipment (with 2 panels instead of 1): http://www.amazon.com/Renogy-100W-Mo...ds=solar+panel
      I also have two of these batteries currently: http://www.amazon.com/Vmaxtanks-Vmax...=solar+battery

Thanks, Rob

Originally posted by Sunking View Post
      Panel wattage and battery capacity is calculated by daily use, not guessing.

What kind of controller are you using? MPPT or PWM?