X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • djwright
    • Sep 2012

Generator powered by Solar Panels

Hey guys
    I'm kinda new to this I'm looking into doing the solar system on my house I seen all the normal setups for the solar leases.
    It will be tied into the city grid. why don't more why don't more people use solar powered generators. The idea being that a little bit of power from the solar panels powers the generator which puts out more power. You then would not need as many solar panels on the roof and keep the cost down. Also, so far I have only seen 1800 watt generators are there larger ones out there? The main consumer of energy at my house is my pool pump, with straws almost 3000 watt alone for 6 hours. I was wondering if anybody is using solar generators to supply power to their house not just as backup.

I do understand 1 of the problems we may run into with using solar generators is that they're moving parts in the generators and life expectancy of the generator maybe compromise by continuous use. Are solar powered generators designed to be used non stop? My thinking is that I need around a 7000 - 8000 watt system to power the pool, House AC and all the normal stuff frig and so on. I will even need to use a welder at the house sometimes but since I'm tied into the grid I should be okay.

I would appreciate any thoughts. Thank you
  • billvon
    Solar Fanatic
    • Mar 2012

Originally posted by djwright
    I'm kinda new to this I'm looking into doing the solar system on my house I seen all the normal setups for the solar leases.
    It will be tied into the city grid.
    Sounds good.

why don't more why don't more people use solar powered generators. The idea being that a little bit of power from the solar panels powers the generator which puts out more power.
    No motor/generator/transformer/system of clever gears etc will ever output more than you put into it. Laws of thermodynamics prevent that.