Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • sunstroke
    • Oct 2016

Battery size and use

I bought 2 AGM batteries that are 12v-10aH, sealed, spill proof and lead acid, rechargeable. Can I use them for solar power? I have a 100watt controller and 4- .1.5watt solar panels all from Harbor Freight and a 400watt inverter. I am just beginning and learning this solar power stuff. Any help would be appreciated. I just want to tinker with it until I understand it.
  • PNjunction
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jul 2012

Want to know the super super shortcut? Here it is:

So, what's the max watt-hours we can take out of this battery? Use the power-formula, (P/I*E) aka (Watts / Current * Voltage)

12v battery * 20ah = 240 watthours. BUT, we now divide this in half so as not to exceed a 50% discharge.
    240 / 2 = 120 watthours.
    Now multiply this by 0.9 to account for the inverter loss.

120 * 0.9 = 10.8 watt max load.

This would be the maximum wattage of your load to use without getting too heavily into the Peukert factor, and would provide at least a 10 hour runtime.

Real world values may need tweaking, but this is napkin-calc.

Tip: If you are going to wing it instead of calculating and measuring it, after a discharge, let your agm rest for a few hours. 4 hours or more preferable. Assuming they are in good shape (and that's a BIG assumption), then your resting voltage with no load and no charge should be about 12.2 to 12.3v for a 50% DOD. If lower, than you discharged too far, or too fast / puekert.

Last edited by PNjunction; 11-29-2016, 07:52 PM.

Comment

• PNjunction
      Solar Fanatic
      • Jul 2012

Also know that with agm's, taking them down to 50% DOD on a daily basis means that you only have about 300-500 cycles. You get a year's worth or so of operation from them.

Cutting your load in half so that you only draw 25% capacity from them, and now you are extended to about 900-1200 cycles - maybe 3 to 4 years.