Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Tango287
    • Nov 2015

Wire guage

Hi folks I am a newbie. I have installed on my outdoor shed 8, 15 watt panels running into a charge controller then into 6, 6volt golf cart batteries. From there to a pure sine wave inverter (good for 1000 watts). Now I want to run a wire into my house to a new wall plug. This will be used for power outages just for lights. I will use the system on a daily basis to power a lamp or two. Someone told me if I only used during outages I could burn up the batteries but I thought that was what the charge controller was for. Anyway, my question is what gauge wire should I use to go into the house? Can you use too heavy of a wire? I have plenty of 12/2 with a ground outdoor rated. I only need to run about 20 feet of wire total.

Thanks!!
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

A 100W lamp only consumes about 1 amp at 120V, so your 12ga wire is plenty large enough.
    Then you need circuit breakers, to prevent a short from starting a fire, proper condouit for the cable and waterproof entry to the house. And beware, when you install an outlet to a house, you are making a modification to the inspected wiring and may be in a "out of compliance" situation, where if there is a fire or accident, your insurance may be invalidated because of the inverter and outlet you installed. And a mod sine inverter cannot be connected to a grounded electrical system, because it is NOT designed to be wired in that method, and will likely fault or fail.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||