matching a 300w 36v solar panel to my 12v battery and 12/24v inverter, please advice

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • chacha4423
    • May 2014

matching a 300w 36v solar panel to my 12v battery and 12/24v inverter, please advice

Hi, I am new to this technology but have been interested about solar energy since way back 30 years ago in high school, i recently acquired a solar pv system from a friend , actiually separate parts bought separately from different sources, i have a 12/24v 20a solar controller, a 300w 36v panel, a 12/24v 3000w inverter and a 12v 500Ah battery. the problem arised when i found out that the panel was 36v and not 12v as i expected, do i need anything else to match the 36v to the 12v battery and inverter thanks in advance

actual rating of the Panel

Pmax 300w
    Voc 42.48v
    Isc 9.16A
    Vmp 36v
    Imp 8.33A
    Vmax 1000v

tolerance +-3%
  • inetdog
    Super Moderator
    • May 2012

Originally posted by chacha4423
    Hi, I am new to this technology but have been interested about solar energy since way back 30 years ago in high school, i recently acquired a solar pv system from a friend , actiually separate parts bought separately from different sources, i have a 12/24v 20a solar controller, a 300w 36v panel, a 12/24v 3000w inverter and a 12v 500Ah battery. the problem arised when i found out that the panel was 36v and not 12v as i expected, do i need anything else to match the 36v to the 12v battery and inverter thanks in advance

actual rating of the Panel

Pmax 300w
    Voc 42.48v
    Isc 9.16A
    Vmp 36v
    Imp 8.33A
    Vmax 1000v

tolerance +-3%
    Hello chacha and welcome to Solar Panel Talk!

If your charge controller (CC) is the Pulse Width Modulated (PWM) type, then you can go ahead and use it safely but you will get only about a third of the panel wattage in the form of useful charging current.