X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jenx
    • Jul 2023

Are panels performing correctly?

I have a 3.9KW system, but it only imports a maximum of 2.8KW - even on a sunny day when there are no couples in the sky!

Could there be a problem with the panels? I assumed that they would import somewhere between 3.6 and 3.9KW or is it normal for a 3.9KW system to import a number so much lower than its capacity?

Thanks in advance for any information or advice.
  • bcroe
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jan 2012

Your panel output will be reduced according to your inverter efficiency,
    and wiring resistance. Recently smoke from Canada has been having
    an impact on IL, USA solar, much more than similar appearing clouds.
    Bruce Roe

Comment

• Jenx
      • Jul 2023

Thanks Bruce.

I’m actually in UK.

I was just after a bit of advice as I’m new to it all - no idea about inverters and resistance etc!

just baffled by the import Figures as they seem low for a 3.9 system!

Comment

• SunEagle
        Super Moderator
        • Oct 2012

Jenx. I responded to your issue in your other thread. To help keep the duplication of answers I would appreciate if you only post your issue once. Thanks

Also if you are going to post in the New Members thread you should provide some additional detail like where you live and what your solar system is comprised of.
        Last edited by SunEagle; 07-11-2023, 06:43 PM.

Comment

• Jenx
          • Jul 2023

Apologies - took me a while to work the website out!

Comment

• SunEagle
            Super Moderator
            • Oct 2012

Originally posted by Jenx
            Apologies - took me a while to work the website out!
            No apologies necessary. I hope we can help you determine if your problem can be solved or whatever.

Comment

• SolTex
              • Mar 2022