X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Motolux
    • Jun 2023

New from Ontario need some help

Hi everyone, I’m new to solar, just went off grid in a tiny house I’m building, I bought an energizer arc5 power station, I’ve been running a single 100w panel to charge it until today when I got another one, I’ve been leaving it plugged into the panel 24/7 and it only charges to 99% on solar

I had one night it randomly drained to 0% in 2 hours when it normally only goes to 70% running all night keeping my phone charged and running a fan, after that happened I charged it with a wall plug at a family members house and it went to 100% like it should and stopped charging

I ran it off my solar for the week and it was fine charging up to 100% and now it’s back to only hitting 99%, I’ve also noticed with solar even when charged it still shows an input wattage and when plugged into a wall once it finishes charging it drops the wattage to 0, the wall plug output is 19v at 4.74a, the panel specs are vmp-17.1v, imp-5.5a, Voc-21.5v, isc-6.1a,

is this normal when charging with solar and an mppt charge controller?
  • J.P.M.
    Solar Fanatic
    • Aug 2013

Ontario Canada or Ontario, CA ?

Comment

• Motolux
      • Jun 2023

Originally posted by J.P.M.
      Ontario Canada or Ontario, CA ?
      I’m in Canada

Comment

• AzSun
        • May 2011

I would not worry about the 99%. Solar panel output varies widely, the wall plug output is constant. It may have not been fully charged the time it went to 0% in 2 hours.