Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New member (charge controller settings SLA)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New member (charge controller settings SLA)

Hello all,

I'm a total rookie with solar systems but trying to learn new things every day. My first "project" was to power a couple of fans. A month has passed and everything seems to be working still, no dead batteries yet. The major issue for me is to understand the SCC settings with certain batteries. I have used the default settings for sealed till today. Recently I bought a MPPT (Epever). It has a default for S,G,F and manual for User. Three parameters that puzzle me the most (default sealed) are: "Over voltage disconnect 16.0V, Charging limit voltage: 15.0V and Low Voltage Disconnect Voltage 11.1V). From different internet sources it says: never discharge below this level (some say 80%, some 70%... 60-50% or in volts: 11.4V, 11.96V, 12.1V...) and also do not overcharge beyond X. My current system is 12V and battery for experimenting is a cheap 80Ah SLA. The question is:

1. Should I use/trust the default settings for SLA or use the User settings and manually type different values? Maybe I am missing something but the default low disconnect and charging limit sound too low & high if I compare to the many tutorials online. Why is 11.1V disconnect default and acceptable? Isn't the battery somewhat damaged by then?

Thank you,
    Have a sunny day.

unless you have the specs for your specific battery (try going online to the mfg) stick with the pre-programmed setting for SLA on the controller.

What was your old controllers settings that you used ?