X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ItsFriz
    • Jun 2020

New Memeber and Starting New Project

Figured I'd introduce myself, I'm a mechanical engineer looking to save money on some bills and tired of feeling bad for all the energy I burn...so figured I'd start by going solar. I bought a 12.5 kW system from a distributor for dirt cheap but could run into some issues with codes. So far I'm here primarily for the reason that I'm trying to figure out exactly what I need to be doing in between making calls to the building department asking them what direction I should be going in. Looking to learn as much as I can from you guys, thanks for having such a great place
  • J.P.M.
    Solar Fanatic
    • Aug 2013

I'd respectfully suggest not buying or doing anything else until you get more informed.
    Start with a copy of "Solar Power Your Home for Dummies" ~ $25 at bookstores/Amazon, or a slightly outdated free PDF download. I'd suggest reading the parts about energy conservation first.
    So, part of what you need to be doing, as a first step, is to get the book and read it.
    Then, get familiar w/your local jurisdictional requirements for residential PV, and more importantly the folks who administer and enforce local codes. The permitting people can be like Marines: your best friend or your worst enemy. Call them and tell them what your post here said.
    If you're looking to save $$ and assuage your angst about burning energy, get your annual electrical loads in kWh/month/yr. and $ amounts and, even though it sounds like you've put the cart before the horse by buying equipment before knowing what the application is, if cost effectiveness is important to you, decide how much of your electric costs you want to offset w/PV. Think engineering economics of the kind you learned in M.E. school.