X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bbowens
    • Mar 2019

Looking at first time install, Concord CA, perhaps DIY

Hi All,
    I'm a solar noob, and I've had three estimates, one included an on-site visit; the estimates varied in price some, but the gear seemed pretty much the same. I'm trying to get something installed by the end of 2019 so that I can take advantage of whatever benefits are still in place (tax credit and NEM rules). My requirements are pretty standard--PV, on-grid, outright purchase preferred. Since excess generation on the true-up is pretty meager, I'm shooting for a system that is at or just short of my requirements, but expandable in case I need more generation down the road. So, a roughly 8-panel system with a higher capacity inverter is my current strategy.

I hadn't considered DIY, but I came across the Wholesale Solar website last night, and I see the system that one estimate outlined, and at quite a bit lower cost-- https://www.wholesalesolar.com/18912...ar-315w-panels

If I go this route, I figure I'll do some or all of the work, get some help perhaps on the electrical and possibly the roofing. That said, should I post this scenario in a different forum section, and any comments in general? (is Wholesale Solar a good resource?).
  • khanh dam
    Solar Fanatic
    • Aug 2019

I doubt a 2.5KW system is going to be anywhere close to "just short" of your requirements. Maybe you live in a very small house? I'd go with Enphase micro inverters, they are much easier to DIY for most people and more electricians understand AC better than DC

Comment

• J.P.M.
      Solar Fanatic
      • Aug 2013

OP: What's your annual kWh usage, what's your zip and what's your proposed array tilt and azimuth ?

Comment

• bbowens
        • Mar 2019

Originally posted by J.P.M.
        OP: What's your annual kWh usage, what's your zip and what's your proposed array tilt and azimuth ?