X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • flowing
    • Feb 2019

NJ newbie here! Saying hello!

Hi guys, just started to research solar.... I dont want a roof based system. I would love some-kind of driveway cover/port. Anyone have experience or options for that. Currently drive two EVs and use lots of electricity which is the reason for looking into solar.

Thanks!
  • bcroe
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jan 2012

Start by figuring KWHs needed for your use. Check that the power company does net metering.
    Then figure array size for your area. A car port sounds small. Bruce Roe

Comment

• flowing
      • Feb 2019

Thanks! Yes power company does net metering. I don't think I could ever produce what I use in my location. But I would be happy to help a bit.

Peace

Comment

• JSchnee21
        Solar Fanatic
        • May 2017

Welcome flowing !

There are at least two of us here from NJ. macaddict and myself. I live in Central NJ and have a 12.2kW (DC) roof mounted system. Currently have a Prius as my daily driver, but am considering an EV when it finally dies (Fully Autonomous (Level 5) Tesla 3? -- one day).

Unfortunately, given shade, roof pitch, and other factors, my PV array only covers about 85% of my current annual usage. So while I originally had dreams of running my future EV directly from the sun, my roof wasn't big enough (37 panels) to make that happen. Perhaps one day when i replace my air conditioner and trim my trees, I'll get close to 100%.

How much do you know about grid connected solar power and NJ SREC's? Definitely pickup a copy of "Solar Power Your Home For Dummies" and setup an account on EnerySage dot com if you are just getting starting. I can also recommend a reputable installer in NJ as well, if you are interested.

The main issue(s) you're going to have with a carport / pergola style system are:

1) insufficient surface are -- too few panels
        2) sub-optimal pitch -- too flat