X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Big Al
    • Oct 2010

How much should my system genarate?

Hi. I'm new to solar so I may be expecting more that I've been told. I have just had a 2.2kW/h system installed and even on the most sunny day I won't get to 1.9kW/h.
    The System is: 12x 180 watt 35 volt panels and a Xantrex GT2.8 inverter about 15 meters from the cells.
    I was wondering if anyone has a similar system and whether is putting out about the same.
  • russ
    Solar Fanatic
    • Jul 2009

Hi Big Al, Welcome to Solar Panel Talk!

You would need to mention the area and insolation plus ambient temperature for the guys to really comment but it seems you are doing well.

The 2.2 kW system rating is under lab conditions - not much to do with reality except that the conditions are standard which everyone testing can follow.

1.9 kW is 86% of the factory rating - good

Russ
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Comment

• Jason
      Administrator
      • Dec 2008

Welcome Big Al! Glad to have you.

To fill out the location on your profile, click on the "forum actions" link at the top, then "edit profile" and scroll down a little to "location" and click save when you're finished.

Comment

• Big Al
        • Oct 2010

Hi Russ and thanks for your welcome.

I live on Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia where it's mostly sunny and warm. At this time of year the average daily temp is around 23 Degrees Celsius and the search for insolation took me to the following link:

Gold Coast, Australia - sunrise, sunset, dawn and dusk times for the whole year in a graph, day length and changes in lengths in a table. Basic information, like local time and the location on a world map, are also featured.