X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • heefage
    • Jul 2010

Louisiana

A big hello from Louisiana. I have worked in the oil industry most of my life, either on drilling rigs or surveying for pipelines, and after BP's fudge Im seriously contemplating getting into the solar field, as an installer. Im pretty new to alternative energy so im researching as much as i can before taking a formal training class.
  • MarineLiner
    Solar Skipper
    • May 2009

Welcome onboard and thanks for joining.
    I'm sure we can learn fast in this forum from the many questions and answers here.

Comment

• heefage
      • Jul 2010

thanks.

I havent made my mind up whether to take a hands on, intensive class or take an internet class that lasts several weeks. If I take the hands-on class I will be attending our states community college, and if I take the on-line class I will most likely take PV101 through solarenergy.org

Im hoping to pass the NABCEP Entry Level Exam and get a job at one of our states solar energy companies.

Is solar energy even a profitable career in Louisiana right now? Ive found that some states only have a handful of certified PV installers.

After getting the NABCEP Entry Level Certificate will my chances be greater at being hired by solar companies around the state?

Comment

• Jason
        Administrator
        • Dec 2008

Hi heefage,

First, thanks a million for registering with Solar Panel Talk. There is a wealth on info to get you started with learning about the industry.

There are a few NABCEP certified members here on the forum. I've never taken it, but from what I understand it's pretty difficult. I think having it would increase your chances of employment, because it's the most well known industry standard certification.