X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • NewHere
    • Jun 2015

SunnyBoy or Fronius Primo inverter? Deciding between systems...

Hi, I am completely new to solar and considering proposals from a couple of contractors. One is proposing a 3.1 kW system of (9) 345W SunPower panels with a SunnyBoy inverter located on a south facing roof. The other is proposing a 4.2 kW system of (14) 305 kW LG panels with a Fronius Primo 5.0-1 inverter, with panels located on a south facing roof plus on a basically flat roof adjacent to it. The LG system is priced about $1500 more, but gives me an extra kW of power, which I am pretty sure I will use. On the other hand, the SunPower panels have a better warranty and higher efficiency, with less degrading over their lifespan. But the economics seems to work out in the LG system's favor--quicker ROI. Am having a hard time sorting out the variables. Both seem to be top brands. Any thoughts? Any advice that anyone would like to offer would be much appreciated. Thank you!
  • Living Large
    Solar Fanatic
    • Nov 2014

Originally posted by NewHere
    Hi, I am completely new to solar and considering proposals from a couple of contractors. One is proposing a 3.1 kW system of (9) 345W SunPower panels with a SunnyBoy inverter located on a south facing roof. The other is proposing a 4.2 kW system of (14) 305 kW LG panels with a Fronius Primo 5.0-1 inverter, with panels located on a south facing roof plus on a basically flat roof adjacent to it. The LG system is priced about $1500 more, but gives me an extra kW of power, which I am pretty sure I will use. On the other hand, the SunPower panels have a better warranty and higher efficiency, with less degrading over their lifespan. But the economics seems to work out in the LG system's favor--quicker ROI. Am having a hard time sorting out the variables. Both seem to be top brands. Any thoughts? Any advice that anyone would like to offer would be much appreciated. Thank you!