X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • tabletuser33
    • May 2015

Floridian planning to add solar to home

I'm an electronic technician and I'm finally getting around to adding solar as a resource to my home energy. Once I found that grid tie inverters were available pretty cheap it got my wheels spinning. I had previously research solar and due to battery cost I didn't see a reasonable RIO in going solar. I wanted to add a radiator fan to help cool my garage for the summer and found grid tie inverters. Now I'm redirecting my attention to growing a small grid tie system and adding panels and inverters every year to control cost. I'll be doing lots of reading to find answers and if I can't find the answer, I'll ask you guys.

I'm a Jaguars fan, enjoy fantasy football, Linux user, spent over 20 years fixing aircraft electronics, now back as a full time college student. I'm gadget enthusiast. Last year I mined cryptocurrency this year I'm doing solar. Priority for solar, is controlling cost. I'm worried that grid tied inverters aren't reliable for 10 years of operations and will kill my RIO.

Goal to build a 1kw grid tie system. I want to build the panel support and make it adjustable for 7 to 46 degrees throughout the year to maximize output. I'm starting with 4 or 6 100 watt mono panel in a series/parrallel configuration and looking at a 500 or 600 watt grid tie inverter. I'd like the system to be easily switchable for off grid operations if necessary. Due to territorial restraints I'll be limited to about 8 solar hours. Once I remove a tree and add panels to the south west side of the house I'll be able to add more wattage. Future upgrades.

1. Looking for hints to building adjustable inexpensive solar panel mounts (about 6 feet off the ground),