X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • OrdinaryBeauty
    • Sep 2014

Feeling clever and confused in NE Washington State - new member

I've constructed the shell of a lovely little building in the-middle-of-nowhere, and it's time to get more done. "More" means, in particular, get an off-grid solar system designed and installed.

I like this forum — it has the most information and conversation that I have found anywhere. Why-oh-why didn't I find all y'all three years ago when I started studying and planning?

I am opting for solar for several reasons. My property is remote, the closest point of 'normal' power is a good half mile away. I'd just as soon have my own source of power, even if more costly. Etc.

I am building a 'studio', all legal with permits and such. But I am building to residential codes, so that some day it will be feasible to upgrade the structure to a residence.

In usual country fashion, we are making things happen as we can, with a good dose of make-do and innovation.
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

Welcome.

Do you have enough sun in winter time to make it worth while ?
    PV watts is the standard calculator to see if it's worthwhile.
    Estimates the energy production and cost of energy of grid-connected photovoltaic (PV) energy systems throughout the world. It allows homeowners, small building owners, installers and manufacturers to easily develop estimates of the performance of potential PV installations
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar