X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • kmmtnman
    • Jan 2012

Grundfos 6-SQF-2 controller needed??

Hello,

I'm new to blogging, but have been developing my 5 acres of paradise in the mountains for several years.
    When we bought the property it had a 240v well pump but the down pipe was shot. We replaced the pump with a 6 SQF-2 and down pipe w schedule 120pvc and stainless connectors. We have been running the well pump off of generators with no controller, but I now want to run it direct off of a 790w 50vdc array. I want to put a timer on it so it comes on a couple hours a day to top off the 2.6k gal tank uphill and the overflow waters the garden. Has anyone wired an SQF pump dc without the Grundfos controller? I've been doing with ac without any problems. The controller is 300 bucks and really doesn't do much for you except allow for a float switch, which I don't want anyway. BTW there is no power for 20 miles

Thanks,
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

Manual seems to indicate the motor is fine with AC or CC, within the specified limits and the control boxes enhance the internal control functions. I'm not sure I understand the "run dry" sensor, if that will work without the control box.

Read the manual and take your chances I guess.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount (2) | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister

Comment

• kmmtnman
      • Jan 2012

Run dry sensor

Mike,