Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • texastrooper
    • May 2013

Solar Water Pumping for Cattle

I am planning a simple solar project for supplying water to my cattle. The well is 40' deep. It is not a very strong well and will pump off quickly. Because of this I am planning on purchasing a Grundfos 5SQ05-90-115v .5 HP pump. It has run dry protection and requires no controller. It also has soft start which does not have the electrical surge when starting. The pump is 4.2 amps. I have a 100w solar panel and 2 35 ah batteries. I also have a 2000w inverter. I plan on using a pressure switch and pumping into a pressure tank. The water will flow into a trough for cattle. I estimate pumping about 75 to 100 gallons per day. This will be my first project. Will this work? What more information do you need to help? Anyone have any better ideas? AC is not an option. Thank you for any help.
  • green
    Solar Fanatic
    • Aug 2012

Let me start by saying I am not an expert, there are others here that can help you much better than I. But I just wanted to state that an off grid application needs to be balanced and capable of replacing the energy that is used each day. Some simple math will tell you that your pump will run at about 500 Watts. How long do you plan to run it each day? Say its 3 hours a day, that's 1500 Watt Hours. Do you think your 100 Watt panel will produce that much plus accounting for losses? The answer is no. The math is simple but even I who have been reading and learning for a while now struggle a bit when it comes to losses and location and designing for worst case. So I will let the others here that can do it in their sleep help you get a balanced system.

I only chimed in because I am currently working on a solar powered water pumping system right now for my rain water capturing system. Very small 12V .5A pump and just a 12V 12AH battery. 60W homemade panels supplying the power. So far so good, only set up for a couple weeks now though.

Good Luck