Mains Audio Hum throughout whole system, please help ASAP!

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • peach
    • Oct 2012

Mains Audio Hum throughout whole system, please help ASAP!

Greetings all,

I am a musician and have a great off the grid house and all the power is running off Solar panels to 12v batteries and then converted via an inverter. The major issue I have is that there is 50hz mains hum noise over everything in the house, I have tried to running a cable from the inverter to the earth spike in the ground by the panels but it made no difference.

Any advice would be welcomed, hopefully I just need to buy a power filter or similar? I am happy to try ANYTHING as I need to resolve this issue as soon as possible.

I live in New Zealand and we run 240v here.
    Many thanks in advance.
  • FunGas
    • Aug 2012

Have a Google for mains conditioners, I bought one over 20 years ago as a kit and it's only been switched off a few times since I put it together.

Avoid the plugstrip types, they may be cheaper, but they don't do much, I seem to remember about two dozen components in my kit - check the hifi forums for threads galore...
    Dem

Comment

• inetdog
      Super Moderator
      • May 2012

Originally posted by peach
      Greetings all,

I am a musician and have a great off the grid house and all the power is running off Solar panels to 12v batteries and then converted via an inverter. The major issue I have is that there is 50hz mains hum noise over everything in the house, I have tried to running a cable from the inverter to the earth spike in the ground by the panels but it made no difference.

Any advice would be welcomed, hopefully I just need to buy a power filter or similar? I am happy to try ANYTHING as I need to resolve this issue as soon as possible.

I live in New Zealand and we run 240v here.
      Many thanks in advance.