Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • cckw
    • Mar 2012

solar AA battery charging

I am new to solar and know the low end questions from newbies can be annoying to the rest of you, but I hope you won't just roll your eyes and hit the back button. I have several questions:

First off, If I am buying a small solar panel online, are they all similar? or do I need to know things in order to get a good one? etc?

part #2...

I want to do a basic AA battery charging system. The AA charger is a smart charger that monitors charge and stops when charge is complete, so that the NiMh AA's do not get overcharged which they don't tolerate very well.

the charger I would use has a 12v input I have 2 different models that do this, Maha C-9000 and Duracell CEF-23 Maha has a max draw of 2amp, but that is if using max charge rate on all 4 channels. The Duracell CEF-23 has a max draw around 500mA.

My thought is to get a small solar panel and a 12v battery like used in a computer UPS. 12v 26Ah. or similar. then to the charger. The charger requires a stable 12v to work right, so having the battery in the circuit will stabilize that, right? Or do I need some additional regulation?

what wattage would I want in a solar panel? I'm near Omaha NE. usage would be to charge AA batteries for flashlights when power is out for days.
  • Sunking
    Solar Fanatic
    • Feb 2010

[QUOTE=cckw;42699]My thought is to get a small solar panel and a 12v battery like used in a computer UPS. 12v 26Ah. or similar. then to the charger. The charger requires a stable 12v to work right, so having the battery in the circuit will stabilize that, right? Or do I need some additional regulation? Yes you would need a charge controller between the solar panel and battery so you do not cook you 12 volt battery.

Originally posted by cckw
    what wattage would I want in a solar panel? I'm near Omaha NE. usage would be to charge AA batteries for flashlights when power is out for days.