Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • PVCabin
    • Nov 2011

Best heat source using solar power

Hello all, I'm a newbie to the site and plan on going off-grid solar sometime next year in a small cabin up in the mountains. I have many questions, but will start with this one...
    I will be in the cabin about 3-4 days/week (I travel quite a bit for work). When I am not home, what is the most efficient way to heat an 800sqft cabin so that the pipes do not freeze? There are propane wall mounted heaters, and I have also looked into a gas boiler/radiant floor system. What do all of you currently use and which one would use the least amount of power from the
    batteries.
    Thanks in advance...
  • Sunking
    Solar Fanatic
    • Feb 2010

Well first you would never ever use the batteries to generate any kind of heat or cooling. A small convection LPG heater would likely be the best bet.
    MSEE, PE

Comment

• PVCabin
      • Nov 2011

I did look into these, but do they have a thermostat and are they safe to operate while I'm away?

Comment

• TnAndy
        Solar Fanatic
        • Oct 2011

Yes and yes.

Probably something like a ventless propane 15,000 BTU blue flame wall heater for 800sqft ( assuming it's fairly open and decently insulated ). You can set that up with the heat, couple 100lb tanks and a dual regulator for 6-700 bucks....Waaaaaaay cheaper than a gas boiler/radiant floor system.

Comment

• PVCabin
          • Nov 2011

Thank you for the information. I was only thinking boiler so that I could use it for hot water as well. Is it possible to use an on-demand hot water heater (Rinnai) with a well? I would have a pressure tank to hold a few hundred gallons of water, but was wondering if the pump would be working too often with a tankless system.
          Thanks

Comment

• TnAndy
            Solar Fanatic
            • Oct 2011