Is advising off-grid newbies to go cheap the first time a good idea?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ron_jeremy
    • Jul 2017

Is advising off-grid newbies to go cheap the first time a good idea?

My wife and I live full time in a 'full blown' house (electric fridge, multiple tv's, washer, etc.) on an island in the Pacific Northwest. Our new neighbours have a very small cabin that they use on occasional weekends (typically during nice weather). Currently, their only source of power is a 2000W Honda genset.

Recently they have been procurring quotes from local vendors for a solar/battery setup and I noticed both quotes were in the $12K-$13K USD range. Both quotes offered similar setups: 2.6kW and 3kV PV, 24V lead carbon battery bank (2 x Northstar NSB190FT Blue+ 12V and 4 x SWE6-420 from an unknown (to me) manufacturer), and one offered Conext electronics while the other Victron.

Now, I am far from an expert, but I was not impressed with either offering. Am I wrong to think the Northstar batteries are ****e telecom units? The other batteries look ok but I don't know who makes them. Also, wouldn't a 48V setup make more sense?

And on another completely different line of thinking, I'm tempted to suggest they forgo the PV altogether (for now), go to Costco or any place that sells cheapo lead acid batteries and buy the cheapest ones they can & just charge them with the generator because they will almost surely kill their first set of batteries well before their time so why spend a ton of money???

Thoughts?
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

Depending on the new solar owner's sense of involvement, that decides the expense/complexity of the system. Start with cheap flooded costco golfcart batteries. When they can get them to last 2+ years, then get the expensive batteries

Does it snow/accumulate snow there ?