Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • RogerRetro
    • Mar 2016

Proposed Solar Wireless Surveillance System

Hope this is the correct section for this post...
    I have done some research on building a single camera outside wireless solar powered setup for my house.
    I would appreciate a sanity check on the following setup, as this is my first try, and I may very well not have it all figured out correctly. Any comments or advise appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Roger

Fremont, CA average sunlight hours = 5.5/day.
    50W solar panel = 2.8A x 5.5 hrs. sun = 15Ah/day. 15A x 12V = 185Wh/day.
    One 5V 4.5W PT Camera, running 24Hr/day, powered by a 12V/5V DC-DC Converter
    Load – 4.5W x 24Hr = 108Wh/day@12V DC
    Consumption – Ah/day = 108Wh/12V = 9Ah/day + Charging losses – 10% = 10Ah/day
    Solar Ah required – 10Ah/5.5Hr @ min sun = 1.8A (min. for solar panel load in winter months)
    50 Watt solar panel – optimum rated current = 2.8A
    Battery – back-up power required ~4days, x 10Ah/day = 40Ah over 4 days = 96Hr
    50Ah – Peukert discharge to 50% = 103Hr@0.375A = 4.3days
    Panel orientation - 170° (from true north), vertical angle 52°, clear of shadows.
    Last edited by RogerRetro; 03-07-2016, 01:31 PM.
  • sensij
    Solar Fanatic
    • Sep 2014

Is the solar panel powering the camera mounted south facing, at least 40 deg tilt, no shade and a clear view of the horizon? If not, your sun-hours estimate may be too high. If you haven't already, check out PVWatts (seems to be down at the moment, but is normally reliable), you can test different orientations. It will show average monthly insolation, and let you download the hourly breakdown as well. The model assumes "typical" weather, so actual weather will clearly vary, but it gives you an idea of what to expect. Sources of shade need to be considered separately.