Solar powered AC air conditioning, a bummer or a challenge?

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • PhillyTitan
    • Jul 2014

Solar powered AC air conditioning, a bummer or a challenge?

I hope I'm posting this thread in the right section. I'm a newbie and don't know any better.
    I really want a low cost solution (low cost build and maintenance) for a completely off-grid addition that I'm planning for my house. I'm building a small bonus room/bathroom addition to my house (11x25').

Although heating is required by local building codes, it's not required to survive here. However air conditioning is an absolute must if I'm going to live with a family in such tight quarters. I'm in the deep south where 100% humidity is not uncommon in the summer. I've looked into 24 volt DC units like they would use in yachts, but it seems prohibitively expensive. I'm just too poor to have a system that costs 10-15 grand.

It seems I can run DC lights and small AC appliances with little solar power and a small inverter. But the real energy hog is the air conditioner. I spoke to others about this problem and everyone I speak to seem to think an 120 VAC air conditioner should not be attempted on solar power .

I figure if I have 1kW array, a 200ah battery or two, and some heavy duty insulation, and a inverter just the right wattage rating to start and run the A/C unit, then I could get away with running a high efficiency 6000 BTU window unit air conditioner for 5-7 hours a day. The lights and small appliances can be run on a separate, smaller system.
  • PhillyTitan
    • Jul 2014

Let me sum this up this setup:

- a highly insulated, 11'x25' room
    - 1kW solar array with homemade solar tracker
    - 2x 200ah 12-volt batteries
    - a 6000 BTU AC air conditioner (620 watts) running 5-7 hours/day on the sunniest/hottest days.
    - an inverter running on the minimum power to start and run the AC.