Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Fullblast
    • Jun 2021

Off Grid Crypto Mining with 48V, system design

Hello all. This is my first post. I've had a 12v 500 watt solar system on my RV camper for about 10 years now that I installed myself and has worked great. I have Concorde Lifeline agm batteries wired parallel 12v and Kyocera panels. I'm new to 48V and still trying to learn.

​​​ I'm trying to build a separate 48v system to power a crypto mining rig that pulls 3250 watts continuous and want to run it 24 hours per day. .

I need a lot of capacity at night. I live in Texas and run about 10 hours per night off batteries.

I was looking into getting 13) 48v Trina 410s for a total of 5330 watts.

To make it those 10 hours running off batteries at night I would need 677 amp hours. 3250/48=67.7

Then add another 10% for inverter draw on top of that for inverter draw. So I would basically need 744 amp hours total.

In order to not bring my batteries under 50% discharge, I would have to have a 1500 AH battery bank.

How can you get a battery bank with this many amp hours while they're wired in series for 48v?

I had a mind to get 4) Sun Xtender PVX-12255L 12v batteries. They are 258AH at 12v

If they are wired in series to 48v, won't the bank stay at 258AH?

What would be the best way to get high capacity at 48v?

Use 2) 24v power banks in series and parallel them together to make 48v?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

​​​​​​

​​​
    Last edited by Fullblast; 06-30-2021, 10:53 PM.
  • Mike90250
    • May 2009

Look into used forklift battery packs. They are made up of +1000ah 2v cells

just to give you a heads up, doing this with solar & batteries will cost several times more than grid powered.