X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • fobb$57
    • Feb 2021

50a RV going off-G!

Hello all, thanks for having me.
    I am needing to put together a system for my 50A camper.
    My two main priorities here are budget and longevity of the system.
    I will never use more than one 15k btu A/C at a time and the ONLY appliance I will need running constant is a 7cu ft fridge. Cooling is a luxury and I can employ wood heat in the cold months. I have alternatives and not afraid to time my daily usage and forego the conveniences to have power for basic requirements.
    I will have a 3550w gen backup.
    Basically I would like the CAPABILITY to use more appliances when conditions are ideal, with consideration of budget first.
    The panels would prob be mounted stationary on a carport roof.
    My estimation lands me at something like (8-10) 300+ watt panels, but I would appreciate any and all inquiries and insight yall can provide here..

Im still learning electrical.. Ive read up on batteries some.
    Im wondering for my application would it be better to have say (10) batteries rated 12v 35Ah or (4) at 12v 100Ah?
    And wondering about the experts thoughts on arranging banks parallel-in-series.. seems like the way to go but im trying to wrap my head around it all and decipher what would be best for my particular situation..

• chrisski
    Solar Fanatic
    • May 2020

If budget is a priority and using solar to generate the power, start with some sort of energy audit. If you go to a sight Like PV watts for your area, you can figure how much power you can produce.

I was floored when I found out what it would take to run one roof top AC, which is what I think 15K BTU is. I didn’t go through with a whole lot of thought on the build, but since the panels would not fit on my roof, and a lot of batteries would be needed, it was looking like I’d need a 10’ enclosed trailer to act as a powerhouse and haul panels around. I also think you’re into forklift battery territory.