Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Texas-Hunter
    • Feb 2017

Solar For My Gazebo

If this the wrong forum to post this in please move it to the correct one. I am a novice on solar so pardon my ignorance on this. OK, here is what I have and what I am wanting to do, I have a lake house in East Texas and it has a small 12x12 gazebo down by the lake. The area where the solar panel(s) will receive 6-7 hrs of direct sun each day. I am wanting to add one 52" ceiling fan inside for some air movement during the hot days/afternoons or evenings. It would be occupied maybe 4-5 hours during any of those parts of the day, most likely afternoon evening. Since this is a weekend home it will not be used every day. My thoughts are a 100 watt solar panel and one 12v deep cycle battery with a 2000 watt inverter. Is this enough not enough. Again this is not my specialty, you want to chat about HVAC Refrigeration up to 500 tons we can talk. The specifications of the fan are below,

Untitled.png

• SunEagle
    Super Moderator
    • Oct 2012

Well a single 100watt panel would be able to safely charge a 60Ah battery. That battery can provide about 200 watt hours a day which can run that fan on Medium for about 6 hours.

So you are pretty close to what you need but that 2000 watt inverter is much too big for that battery. You probably can get away with a 300watt inverter.

Comment

• Texas-Hunter
      • Feb 2017

Originally posted by SunEagle
      Well a single 100watt panel would be able to safely charge a 60Ah battery. That battery can provide about 200 watt hours a day which can run that fan on Medium for about 6 hours.

So you are pretty close to what you need but that 2000 watt inverter is much too big for that battery. You probably can get away with a 300watt inverter.